The proof is in the pudding when it comes to dog training. Anyone can claim anything, but achieving it is a different story. We strive to not just teach the dog obedience commands or behavioral modification, but to make sure these obedience commands and behavioral modification work for the owner (when the trainer is not there). And most importantly they work around distractions, aka “when you need them to work the most”. Because of this, we have thousands of testimonials to hang our dog wizard hat on.

Anna R. AvatarAnna R.

This place is fantastic. I was recommended by a friend who used them and was hoping I would get her same trainer seeing how her dog was after doing the program. I did! Tate is an absolute gem of a dog trainer. Cool, calm, so patient, and he also sent me videos and pictures during the two weeks he had Campbell. Below is a picture of him sitting in his “place” in my office and being so good! My puppy went around 5 months old and has come back so calm and obedient through zero swatting and zero yelling-exactly the lifestyle we want. 15/10 recommend Tate and The Dog Wizard in Nashville for all of your doggie needs! - 5/19/2022 

Emily R. AvatarEmily R.

- 4/12/2022 

Vicki B. AvatarVicki B.

- 4/06/2022 

Dana AvatarDana

I was nervous about Board and Train, but Kendall helped me through the fear and anxiety of trusting someone other than myself to take care of Remington. He listened to all my concerns, frustrations, and reassured me I wasn't alone, and they would be able to help. I enrolled him in the 7-day jumpstart with Tate. I've always had Terriers so I needed help learning how to take care of a working dog that I call "stupid smart". Remington had anxiety and socialization issues, not favored in the house by my other dog, he needed to learn basic commands and manners. Tate sent daily updates and videos that helped ease my anxiety. I couldn't believe the progress Remington was having in such a short amount of time - that couldn't be my dog in those videos?? I missed Remington so much but 7 days flew by and I was excited for him to be home.Remington came home a completely different dog! I joked with Tate and told him I dropped Remington off an insecure boy he came back a confident man 😆 Everything I needed help with was addressed, and Tate showed me how to reinforce everything Remington learned, he laid the solid fountain for success! Remington has been home for 48hrs as I write this- WOW life is so different. Remington's placing, coming on command, Beckett is interacting with him, he's calmed down and doesn't have FOMO anymore. Tate even gave me some tips to help with Beckett as well. If you are struggling with your pet and think there is no hope - Tate is your guy! I can't thank him enough for all that he's done - he is a true gem! He has changed our lives! From the first phone call with Kendall to Tate dropping Remington off, you won't find a better company to train and take care of your pet like The Wizard Dog! And when they say they are here for life they are, after graduating from a program you get graduate classes to attend for FREE!!! What are you waiting for?? now go call.. you won't regret it!!! - 3/23/2022 

Dana AvatarDana

I was nervous about Board and Train, but Kendall helped me through the fear and anxiety of trusting someone other than myself to take care of Remington. He listened to all my concerns, frustrations, and reassured me I wasn't alone, and they would be able to help. I enrolled him in the 7-day jumpstart with Tate. I've always had Terriers so I needed help learning how to take care of a working dog that I call "stupid smart". Remington had anxiety and socialization issues, not favored in the house by my other dog, he needed to learn basic commands and manners. Tate sent daily updates and videos that helped ease my anxiety. I couldn't believe the progress Remington was having in such a short amount of time - that couldn't be my dog in those videos?? I missed Remington so much but 7 days flew by and I was excited for him to be home.
Remington came home a completely different dog! I joked with Tate and told him I dropped Remington off an insecure boy he came back a confident man 😆 Everything I needed help with was addressed, and Tate showed me how to reinforce everything Remington learned, he laid the solid fountain for success! Remington has been home for 48hrs as I write this- WOW life is so different. Remington's placing, coming on command, Beckett is interacting with him, he's calmed down and doesn't have FOMO anymore. Tate even gave me some tips to help with Beckett as well. If you are struggling with your pet and think there is no hope - Tate is your guy! I can't thank him enough for all that he's done - he is a true gem! He has changed our lives! From the first phone call with Kendall to Tate dropping Remington off, you won't find a better company to train and take care of your pet like The Wizard Dog! And when they say they are here for life they are, after graduating from a program you get graduate classes to attend for FREE!!! What are you waiting for?? now go call.. you won't regret it!!! - 3/21/2022 

Erica R. AvatarErica R.

I requested help from the dog wizard and was amazed how quickly I saw a change in my dogs behavior. Kendall was able to quickly give me a solution that worked like MAGIC. This guy truly is a wizard. Thank you so so much Kendall!!! Highly recommend this service. - 2/21/2022 

Kyla M. AvatarKyla M.

We enrolled our dog, Biscuit, in the Jumpstart board and train program with Tate. We are so happy to work with Tate, it was the best decision we could have made! Before the program, Biscuit struggled with fear aggression to the point we dreaded seeing other dogs on walks. Tate was incredibly engaged throughout the program, working to understand Biscuit and utilizing training methods best suited to him. As a dog that required socialization, Biscuit was also safely introduced to other dogs at the boarding facility, allowing him to build a new positive association that has helped reduce his anxiousness. Tate kept us updated throughout the program, which put us at ease and we looked forward to seeing the progress being made. Biscuit has returned a much calmer and happier dog and Tate has given us the tools to continue Biscuit’s training at home. We are building upon a solid foundation and have much more confidence in our abilities after learning from Tate. The dynamic between dog and human in our home has been transformed in the best possible way! - 1/28/2022 

Michael G. AvatarMichael G.

We just got our little boy Nash back home after the 14 days jumpstart program with Tate. We could not be happier with the progress Tate made with Nash. Nash came home with some really good skills to be “calm” - he was a anxious little tyke. We could tell when Nash came home how much he loved his time with Tate. They were best buds!! But we are glad he’s back with us now - and an even more perfect dog than when he left us. Thanks Tate!!!!! - 1/22/2022 

Lori J. AvatarLori J.

If your looking for a top notch dog trainer, look no further, Tate with The Dog Wizzard is WONDERFUL!!! I can honestly say he is everything you would want in a skilled dog trainer!! First off I want to say that going into looking for a perfect fit for my Goldendoodle Oakley who deals with anxiety with strangers and new situations. I also wanted to start Oakley with off leash training so I knew I needed someone with lots of experience. I was a bit apprehensive but knew I needed help. I called several local board and train facilities with disappointing results and was even considering going out of state if that’s what it took to find that perfect fit, which brings me to finding and contacting The Dog Wizzard! I inquired through email and quickly got a consultation phone call with Kendall, the owner. Kendall was sooo easy to talk to and I could clearly tell he loved dogs and he knew what he was talking about! I didn’t feel rushed in explaining my needs and he listened and really felt like he could read my mind in the situation I was dealing with. He gave me his honest opinion and assured me that he could help. Which then brings me to choosing Tate as our trainer! Just like Kendall, Tate is sooo easy to talk to, he truly listens and then takes action and gets to works! At drop off Tate spent a good hour and a half getting to know me and Oakley and talking with me about his strategy and then was soo patient with Oakley in getting Oakley to trust him enough to go with him. Remember, Oakley was afraid of strangers! Oakley quickly warmed up to Tate which made my heart happy!! From that point on, I got daily texts, pics, and photos updates of Oakleys progression!! Tate’s communication is wonderful!! Even after the Board and Train was complete. He’s so encouraging and is eager to help talk things through even after training with him is over. He truly loves the pups he works with and you can tell! At home drop off Tate spent hours with our family training us in what he worked on with Oakley. Oakley came back a completely new Doodle but also Completely himself! If you are on the fence about choosing a training facility, look no further than The Dog Wizzard!! And even more so, Tate with The Dog Wizzard!! He’s the bomb!!! 🙌🏼 Oh wait, I forgot to mention that once your pup graduates with TDW, they get FREE weekly graduates training classes if needed FOR THE REST OF YOUR PUPS LIFE!! How can you pass that up?!? 😎👍🏼❤️🐾 In the future I hope to see you all at graduates class!! 😃*attached is a pic of my special boy Oakley and Tate at drop off! - 1/15/2022 

Lori J. AvatarLori J.

If your looking for a top notch dog trainer, look no further, Tate with The Dog Wizzard is WONDERFUL!!! I can honestly say he is everything you would want in a skilled dog trainer!! First off I want to say that going into looking for a perfect fit for my Goldendoodle Oakley who deals with anxiety with strangers and new situations. I also wanted to start Oakley with off leash training so I knew I needed someone with lots of experience. I was a bit apprehensive but knew I needed help. I called several local board and train facilities with disappointing results and was even considering going out of state if that’s what it took to find that perfect fit, which brings me to finding and contacting The Dog Wizzard! I inquired through email and quickly got a consultation phone call with Kendall, the owner. Kendall was sooo easy to talk to and I could clearly tell he loved dogs and he knew what he was talking about! I didn’t feel rushed in explaining my needs and he listened and really felt like he could read my mind in the situation I was dealing with. He gave me his honest opinion and assured me that he could help. Which then brings me to choosing Tate as our trainer! Just like Kendall, Tate is sooo easy to talk to, he truly listens and then takes action and gets to works! At drop off Tate spent a good hour and a half getting to know me and Oakley and talking with me about his strategy and then was soo patient with Oakley in getting Oakley to trust him enough to go with him. Remember, Oakley was afraid of strangers! Oakley quickly warmed up to Tate which made my heart happy!! From that point on, I got daily texts, pics, and photos updates of Oakleys progression!! Tate’s communication is wonderful!! Even after the Board and Train was complete. He’s so encouraging and is eager to help talk things through even after training with him is over. He truly loves the pups he works with and you can tell! At home drop off Tate spent hours with our family training us in what he worked on with Oakley. Oakley came back a completely new Doodle but also Completely himself! If you are on the fence about choosing a training facility, look no further than The Dog Wizzard!! And even more so, Tate with The Dog Wizzard!! He’s the bomb!!! 🙌🏼 Oh wait, I forgot to mention that once your pup graduates with TDW, they get FREE weekly graduates training classes if needed FOR THE REST OF YOUR PUPS LIFE!! How can you pass that up?!? 😎👍🏼❤️🐾 In the future I hope to see you all at graduates class!! 😃

*attached is a pic of my special boy Oakley and Tate at drop off! - 1/14/2022 

Scott B. AvatarScott B.

We picked up our puppy Ellie from the animal shelter a week before the first covid lockdowns went into effect. We were not able to socialize her and when we were finally able to resume our lives we noticed she had a lot of anxieties and fears in the outside world and was afraid of people. She started showing traits of aggression so we contacted The Dog Wizard in Nashville. Originally we wanted to sign her up for the board and train program but when she first got there it was clear she was too scared of other people to stay. We decided the Freedom training was the next best option so we could get her around different scenarios while building her confidence and teaching her basic skills. Our family is amazed at the transformation we've seen in Ellie these few short weeks. It's taken a lot of dedication but the results are beyond worth it! Tate is incredible and took the time to get to know Ellie's specific issues and came up with a plan that worked for us with our lifestyle. I was in shock when Tate was able to adjust Ellie's collar on her last day of training because she was so scared of him initially.I highly recommend The Dog Wizard Nashville. We have peace of mind knowing Ellie is less stressed and can live happily as part of our family. We look forward to seeing her progress throughout her years. - 1/04/2022 

Scott B. AvatarScott B.

We picked up our puppy Ellie from the animal shelter a week before the first covid lockdowns went into effect. We were not able to socialize her and when we were finally able to resume our lives we noticed she had a lot of anxieties and fears in the outside world and was afraid of people. She started showing traits of aggression so we contacted The Dog Wizard in Nashville. Originally we wanted to sign her up for the board and train program but when she first got there it was clear she was too scared of other people to stay. We decided the Freedom training was the next best option so we could get her around different scenarios while building her confidence and teaching her basic skills. Our family is amazed at the transformation we've seen in Ellie these few short weeks. It's taken a lot of dedication but the results are beyond worth it! Tate is incredible and took the time to get to know Ellie's specific issues and came up with a plan that worked for us with our lifestyle. I was in shock when Tate was able to adjust Ellie's collar on her last day of training because she was so scared of him initially.
I highly recommend The Dog Wizard Nashville. We have peace of mind knowing Ellie is less stressed and can live happily as part of our family. We look forward to seeing her progress throughout her years. - 12/29/2021 

Jill S. AvatarJill S.

This service has been a lifesaver for our extremely anxious dog, Pluto! We started seeing positive results from the first session; Gretchen was amazing! She helped walk us through so many of the issues we have been having with Pluto. We’ve been able to really build up his confidence and help keep him calm in scary new situations. Our vet had a note in his file saying he was extremely anxious, yet our most recent trip every person he met commented on how calm and relaxed he was. Highly recommend! - 10/31/2021 

Sara D. AvatarSara D.

My dog completed a 2 week board and train program with Tate. He went in having some dog aggression and not being able to walk on a leash well. He had other issues with following basic commands but the biggest issue was dog aggression. Tate was so friendly and kind, making sure to answer all of my questions along the way. He kept in constant contact with me throughout the 2 weeks, sending me videos, pictures, and updates about what my dog was learning and how he was doing. Once Tate brought my dog home, he was so helpful in showing me what my dog learned and how to control him in my own home. I was pretty apprehensive with the whole process because I had never put a dog through any type of training classes let alone a board and stay program. I was completely shocked at how much my dog learned in such a short amount of time. Tate was extremely kind and compassionate with my dog and I instantly knew my dog was in good hands! I would without a doubt recommend Tate and this program to anyone who is looking for a program like this and wants the best care for their dog!!! - 10/29/2021 

I M. AvatarI M.

Tate worked with my boxer Axel and helped him to overcome fear/aggression on leash. Kendall runs a top quality business and Tate is absolutely the best! I cannot say enough about this company and their trainers. - 10/13/2021 

Lisa C. AvatarLisa C.

I have only ever written one Google review but my experience with Dog Wizard (specifically our trainer, Tate) was so great, I really wanted to let people know. Tate knows dogs! He has been so easy-going, yet extremely helpful. Our dog has learned so much and is feeling less anxious because of the things Tate has taught him - and us! If you are looking for help with your dog, look no further! - 8/13/2021 

Daniel J. AvatarDaniel J.

- 7/23/2021 

Janice A. AvatarJanice A.

We just had an amazing puppy board and train with Tate. He is truly a dog wizard and worthy of more than 5 stars. Bilbo Waggins had behavioral issues - extremely anxious around other dogs and people and things, barked and growled, ready to dart at passing cars. Tate really listened to our concerns and was extremely knowledgeable about how to handle the issues. After 7 days of board and train, I am happy to say we can easily walk Bilbo Waggins around the neighborhood and he is CALM! The neighbors even noticed and were impressed by Bilbo’s behavior. Tate provided us the tools to help our puppy, and he still so responsive after our training. We highly recommend trying out The Dog Wizard Nashville. - 7/20/2021 

Samantha S. AvatarSamantha S.

Gretchen was awesome! Our puppy loves her, and we learned so many valuable skills from her! Great experience! - 7/18/2021 

Paola R. AvatarPaola R.

Before sending my dog to the two week board and train program, she was wild and I didn't have the tools or proper skills to train her. However, she has returned to me as a new dog, and Tate has provide me the foundation for the rest of the work I have to do with my baby girl. Without this foundation I would still be crying nearly every day thinking I could never train her. Now, I am hopeful that I can get her to where I want her to be. Along with great results, I was very happy with the updates I was given on my girl. Of course I missed her so seeing her was comforting. It was nice also because I could see her progress. I was so worried that no trainer could ever have enough patience to work with my dog. I even had one trainer tell me she was the hardest dog he's ever worked with. But Tate was amazing with my girl. Lastly, I am so grateful that the methods used were all humane. While looking into other board and train programs, I was beginning to think all places used prong collars! The very thought of putting my baby in any pain is obviously very disturbing so after speaking with Tate I was assured that if I didn't want a certain method used, it wouldn't be used. Because of this, while she appears to be a new dog, all of her personality traits are still there. She is the same sweet, smart, and crazy baby. Only now, we are able to settle the craziness. I cannot thank Tate enough. If you are struggling with your dog and think there's no hope, think again because the program will change both you and your dog's life for the better. - 7/09/2021