Dog training reviews are the heart and soul of any dog training business.  The proof is in the pudding when it comes to dog training. Anyone can claim anything, but achieving it is a different story. We strive to not just teach the dog obedience commands or behavioral modification, but to make sure these obedience commands and behavioral modification work for the owner (when the trainer is not there).  And most importantly they work around distractions, aka “when you need them to work the most”. Because of this, we have thousands of testimonials and dog training reviews to hang our dog wizard hat on. Nothing is greater in the dog training business than a client referring you to one of their friends.  The Dog Wizard Wilmington takes our clients satisfaction very seriously, so feel free to read through any and all of our dog training reviews.

Brandon C. AvatarBrandon C.

I’m so thankful for The Dog Wizard in Wilmington and their help with my dog Wall-e. Kayla was a wonderful trainer, very knowledgeable and helpful. Wall-e was an big leash puller with tons of energy, was easily distracted, and had some aggression towards other dogs and people. Through some private lessons we were able to focus his energy into training and he really loved it! We now take him on off leash walks all the time and bring him almost everywhere with us. He’s definitely changed and grown so much in a short time. Excited to learn more along the way! Thanks Kayla and team. - 8/19/2021 

carlie k. Avatarcarlie k.

I have an almost 2 year old female German Shepherd who was super aggressive not even 3 months ago. She wasn’t able to go on walks, meet new people or new dogs. She never had any training or social skills retaining to her new life here in Wilmington. With training from Lianne, she basically transformed into a new dog. She can now walk, heel, place and do other commands she was never able to achieve. I’m able to have friends over now without the constant barking. She now loves going to dog parks and the lake thanks to Lianne. Even my entire family can tell how good this training has done for her and my relationship with her. We currently are training our 4 month old German Shepherd with Lianne, the progress we are already making is amazing. Highly recommend Lianne as your dog trainer and this facility! - 8/14/2021 

Kathy B. AvatarKathy B.

We worked with Lianne with our 1 year old golden retriever. We wanted to work on house manners and do e-collar training for off leash. Lianne was great and we are so pleased with our pooch after the 8 weeks. She can know go to place on command which has greatly improved the chaos when we have people over to our house. She is learning and getting better with greeting strangers. I can know walk her off leash even around other dogs. The program has given us the tools we need to be confident with our dog at home and out in public. We can't wait to start with our big goofy lab next. Highly recommend - 8/14/2021 

Nikole A. AvatarNikole A.

Leann was absolutely phenomenal working with my pup Zola. She was so responsive and honestly helped calm some of my anxiety’s and my lil baby was so happy everyday when she came home. So thankful 💓 - 8/07/2021 

Mary B. AvatarMary B.

I feel so fortunate to have found Dog Wizard of Wilmington. My golden doodle is 65 Lbs and had a very reactive personality. We took him in at 1 year. He was difficult to manage while walking and I’d have to either have him on a leash or kennel him if anyone visited my home.He had a 2 week board and train with Stacy at Dog Wizard. He has made a dramatic turnaround. With proper training tools for him and us he is a completely different guy. He has learned to stay and place when we have guests. He sat next to us as we entertained a table full of guests.He is such a happy guy and we are happy dog owners. If we have any issues Stacy is a text away. They have ongoing support available through the life of my dog.I highly recommend Dog Wizard. - 8/07/2021 

Mary B. AvatarMary B.

I feel so fortunate to have found Dog Wizard of Wilmington. My golden doodle is 65 Lbs and had a very reactive personality. We took him in at 1 year. He was difficult to manage while walking and I’d have to either have him on a leash or kennel him if anyone visited my home.
He had a 2 week board and train with Stacy at Dog Wizard. He has made a dramatic turnaround. With proper training tools for him and us he is a completely different guy. He has learned to stay and place when we have guests. He sat next to us as we entertained a table full of guests.
He is such a happy guy and we are happy dog owners. If we have any issues Stacy is a text away. They have ongoing support available through the life of my dog.
I highly recommend Dog Wizard. - 8/04/2021 

Rob F. AvatarRob F.

When one desperately needs assistance, one asks for help from professionals.We rescued Julep last September and tried for months to work with her on reactivity to other dogs. It got to the point where every walk felt like a risky chore, leaving both Julep and us totally stressed out. For a while, we settled for 4am walks – definitely not a fun or long-term solution! What we wanted was for Julep to share in our adventures, go out any time of day, hit the coffee shops with us, maybe even come with us to dog friendly breweries. We wanted to offer Julep a life where she could have fun just being a dog. We knew we needed help. After talking to our friend Phil and having seen his dog Casper (a WDW graduate) over the years, we called The Wilmington Dog Wizards. We hoped that the professionals at WDW would be able to guide both Julep and us in a better direction, and we were not disappointed.Before her training Julep was timid, unsure, and with off-the-charts reactivity to other dogs we met on the walking trail. It was so bad that she had actually bitten one of us twice in fits of uncontrolled reactivity. After discussing our hopes for what we wanted to give Julep with the folks at WDW, we selected the 3-week board and train program. We had great communication with Stacy before the training even started; it was really reassuring to know that Julep’s future trainer wanted to know all of the details regarding our challenges with and goals for her. We were nervous when we handed over Julep, but Stacy was upbeat, confident and definitely up for a challenge. Throughout the 3-week training we received the coolest training updates, videos, and open dialogue from Stacy. We were amazed by the progress we were seeing via these updates! At the end of the three weeks, it was incredible to be reunited with a trained, obedient, confident Julep who has been a pleasure to walk on and off-leash at normal hours of the day. Of course, not every encounter with other dogs is a solid win, but every encounter is better than before and we’re working towards a goal together. We went on our first Support Pack Walk and were amazed. With at least a dozen other dogs participating, Julep didn’t lunge, growl or bark once. What a change from how she was before! Stacy not only trained Julep to be able to handle an ultimate challenge like that, but she also helped us to see Julep differently and gave us the confidence to reinforce and build on the training.Wilmington Dog Wizards have not only helped Julep learn a thing or two (or five), they’ve helped instill in us the confidence to know, really know, that there’s a world out there we can share with Julep. We’re so grateful to Stacy for getting Julep on the path to a life she deserves. Adventures await thanks to Stacy and the team at Wilmington Dog Wizards!Rob and Michelle Frazier - 7/02/2021 

Brenda B. AvatarBrenda B.

I am so happy with my training from The Dog Wizard. My trainer Stacy was wonderful at explaining everything, always available for questions and fun to work with. The other trainers were also very helpful! My dog had awful leash aggression issues and with training now walks much better on a leash and is less reactive/quicker to calm down. Highly recommend these trainers. - 6/28/2021 

Justin A. AvatarJustin A.

The Dog Wizards worked miracles on our dog. They are so kind and supportive. I would recommend them to anyone.I refused to let my 9 year old pitmix leave the house because she was so aggressive towards other animals and hard to control. I thought I was being a responsible dog owner, but we were missing out on so much.Before training, my dog lunged so aggressively at another animal that her tongue turned blue. She was more concerned about attacking another dog than being able to breath. It was horrible. My expectations for training were pretty low, I honestly didn’t think she could ever be around another animal without attacking it. This dog literally jumped out of a moving boat to attack another dog she saw across the river.Now, I can take her on a walk beside a dog park filled with rowdy dogs and she has no reaction. I never, ever thought that was possible. She even made a dog friend who she hasn’t once tried to bite! She is getting closer to being able to do a pack walk. My friends and family say that she seems like a whole new dog (a well behaved one).We have seen a huge difference in her happiness/excitement and I really feel that training has improved her quality of life. I am so thankful for The Dog Wizards. - 6/24/2021 

Justin A. AvatarJustin A.

The Dog Wizards worked miracles on our dog. They are so kind and supportive. I would recommend them to anyone.
I refused to let my 9 year old pitmix leave the house because she was so aggressive towards other animals and hard to control. I thought I was being a responsible dog owner, but we were missing out on so much.
Before training, my dog lunged so aggressively at another animal that her tongue turned blue. She was more concerned about attacking another dog than being able to breath. It was horrible. My expectations for training were pretty low, I honestly didn’t think she could ever be around another animal without attacking it. This dog literally jumped out of a moving boat to attack another dog she saw across the river.
Now, I can take her on a walk beside a dog park filled with rowdy dogs and she has no reaction. I never, ever thought that was possible. She even made a dog friend who she hasn’t once tried to bite! She is getting closer to being able to do a pack walk. My friends and family say that she seems like a whole new dog (a well behaved one).
We have seen a huge difference in her happiness/excitement and I really feel that training has improved her quality of life. I am so thankful for The Dog Wizards. - 6/23/2021 

Samantha F. AvatarSamantha F.

WDW Puppy Preschool was truly life changing for us and our St. Bernard puppy! The lessons we learned are invaluable and I would recommend any puppy or dog owner in the area to WDW. - 6/20/2021 

Hannah H. AvatarHannah H.

My all-over-the--place 7 m/o Aussie spent two weeks with Stacy in a board and train last month and came back an attentive, polite pup that I can finally take out into the world with me. And walks are actually FUN because he walks with me - no more of the constant battle of the leash. People tell me all the time now how well behaved he is. Yesterday a guy said "whoa, in this crowded room he only has eyes for you!" I can bring him to the office, to bars, and generally out in the world in the way I had hoped. We even do the Paddle Board pack paddle every Friday now!Before Dog Wizard, i had read a few books, watched videos gone to a puppy training, and he could a few good tricks, plus sit, stay etc... but only when he wanted to. One day he ran into the street playing hard to get, and "come" had exactly zero effect. I panicked. And called Dog Wizard. On Stacy's advice, we chose the "off lease" course and it was just what we needed. To show the contrast, last week he was 200 yards away and I couldn't even see him, but when I called he came like a bullet. I am very thankful to Stacy and to Dog Wizard.In case anyone likes details: training included re-learning to lease walk (better this time...), come, sit, down, and also just a general attention to me. Place! turns out the most important one for us, and I use it often while I'm working, when the doorbell rings, etc. He learned a prong collar for structured walks and e-collar for general communication. I had thought I'd need to train lots of commands, like drop or no or stay, but his general obedience makes those exact commands not necessary. Off for example, they didn't train exactly, but now he listens to me when I say it (and back up with the e collar). They trained in lots of public places and sent photos to me regularly through the two weeks. We had a training session when I picked him up to learn what he had learned, and an at-home follow up a week later to trouble shoot. - 6/19/2021 

Megan W. AvatarMegan W.

We recently used The Dog Wizard for our Great Dane/Mastiff puppy. She completed a 7 day Puppy Jumpstart program with trainer Lianne, and will do puppy Pre-School moving forward. We cannot say enough good things about The Dog Wizard or Lianne! We had multiple phone calls to make sure we picked the best programs for our puppy! Discussions were had on needs/issues we had and needed to work through, as well as our puppy. While she was with Lianne we received daily updates and never had to worry! In just 7 days we can tell the time, dedication, and love that was put in by Lianne. We can't wait to continue our training experience. - 6/18/2021 

Heather C. AvatarHeather C.

After years of being unsuccessful to train our boy Roy to properly walk on his leash, we decided to do the 2 week board and train option. At first, I was incredibly anxious and unsure about our choice, but Stacy did a phenomenal job at helping ease my worries, and kept me well informed on Roy’s progress during his training.Prior to Roy’s training- my boy was a terrible leash puller and lunger. Seeing other dogs on walks always resulted in having my arm nearly dislocated… we tried several methods to no avail and knew we needed professional help.Stacy worked wonders with Roy. After completing this program, my boy’s walks are complete joy. No more pulling. No more lunging. Now we can even go on off leash walks, which makes both of us so happy! I now have the ability to take him with me just about anyplace without worrying about his behavior being a deterrent.Knowing that Roy was so well cared for during his training means the world. I feel like Roy was very well loved and I truly think he enjoyed his time with her! Stacy has offered us continued support and is so responsive to answering all my very many questions.Thank you Stacy and Dog Wizard for helping to strength the bond between Roy and I! - 6/18/2021 

June S. AvatarJune S.

Working with Wilmington Dog Wizard has been the best experience. I can't begin to explain how excited I am with the results. I brought my 4yr old 100lb Hound mix, Jax, for an evaluation because I was concerned about the development of what seemed to be aggression issues. When I took him for walks, he would howl and over-react to other dogs. I found myself avoiding many situations to stay clear from dogs, walking him at off hours and never in crowded places. He was able to handle it when he was younger, but over time his reactions became too much for me and because of his size, I didn't trust that I could control him if there was a challenging encounter.The team evaluated him and determined that it didn't seem to be stemming from aggression but he was indeed highly reactive and they recommended private lessons to help get him on the right track. In a matter of 5 sessions with Kayla, he is a completely different dog! Our last session was a walk around downtown Wilmington at 11am. We walked down busy sidewalks passing people, dogs, horses, people eating at tables outside, down the river walk, and even stopped in a pet store. NEVER would I think he could handle any of those interactions, let alone all of them at once! I am so excited at the doors that this has opened for my family to take him to so many more outings in the future.Kayla was amazing to work with. She worked with us step by step and showed me exactly what to do to change his bad habits. She adapted each session to fit what we needed to really challenge my dog and put him in different situations so that I would know how to handle his reaction. She helped us condition him by bringing other dogs, going to different off-site locations, and really made him find a security in me through the process. I still can't believe how quickly this training changed my dog! And you can really see that he is a happier and calmer dog overall.This is the first dog I've had who provided this kind of challenge for me and I was hesitant to sign up for training because I had always been able to condition my dogs in the past. I am so happy that I called The Dog Wizard and would highly recommend to anyone facing a challenge of any type with their dog. Hoping to join your paddle board session this summer (another thing I never thought would even be possible with my stubborn dog!) Thank you Kayla and the entire team, we are loving the results and the added freedom we have to bring Jax on all of our adventures! - 6/18/2021 

Heather C. AvatarHeather C.

After years of being unsuccessful to train our boy Roy to properly walk on his leash, we decided to do the 2 week board and train option. At first, I was incredibly anxious and unsure about our choice, but Stacy did a phenomenal job at helping ease my worries, and kept me well informed on Roy’s progress during his training.

Prior to Roy’s training- my boy was a terrible leash puller and lunger. Seeing other dogs on walks always resulted in having my arm nearly dislocated… we tried several methods to no avail and knew we needed professional help.

Stacy worked wonders with Roy. After completing this program, my boy’s walks are complete joy. No more pulling. No more lunging. Now we can even go on off leash walks, which makes both of us so happy! I now have the ability to take him with me just about anyplace without worrying about his behavior being a deterrent.

Knowing that Roy was so well cared for during his training means the world. I feel like Roy was very well loved and I truly think he enjoyed his time with her! Stacy has offered us continued support and is so responsive to answering all my very many questions.

Thank you Stacy and Dog Wizard for helping to strength the bond between Roy and I! - 6/17/2021 

Kim M. AvatarKim M.

Amazing results! Our 2 year old dog with serve anxiety spent 2 weeks there at board and train and it has been life changing for our family! Our dog is a pleasure to have around house guests now and walking her is so fun! Thank you Wilmington Dog Wizard ! - 5/13/2021 

Scott V. AvatarScott V.

Great staff. Affordable. Gave us a good base to help make our dog owning experience better. - 5/13/2021 

Sara M. AvatarSara M.

I would highly recommend The Dog Wizard to anyone looking to get their puppy trained!! Our dog, Moonpie, had the best trainer, Stacy!! She was awesome with him! He can now do the simple commands, sit and down and is walking on a leash with little to no pull! He's still working on come, but is getting there! The main goal was to get him to CALM DOWN!! That was accomplished! He's so much more chill now!! If I could give 10 🌟 I would! Great place and the BEST trainer, Stacy! - 4/29/2021 

John M. AvatarJohn M.

We rescued a two-year-old German Shepard Dog in February. Cooper had been on his own for a time and while he was sweet, he was filled with anxiety and mistrust. We put him in a two-week board and train program at Wilmington Dog Wizard and the progress he made was amazing! Stacey gave him all of the structure he needed to feel safe and calm. Even more importantly, she is training US so that we can help Cooper live his best life! We truly feel like Stacey made it possible to have a safe and happy life with our boy. - 4/27/2021