Dog training reviews are the heart and soul of any dog training business.  The proof is in the pudding when it comes to dog training. Anyone can claim anything, but achieving it is a different story. We strive to not just teach the dog obedience commands or behavioral modification, but to make sure these obedience commands and behavioral modification work for the owner (when the trainer is not there).  And most importantly they work around distractions, aka “when you need them to work the most”. Because of this, we have thousands of testimonials and dog training reviews to hang our dog wizard hat on. Nothing is greater in the dog training business than a client referring you to one of their friends.  The Dog Wizard Wilmington takes our clients satisfaction very seriously, so feel free to read through any and all of our dog training reviews.

Heather C. AvatarHeather C.

After years of being unsuccessful to train our boy Roy to properly walk on his leash, we decided to do the 2 week board and train option. At first, I was incredibly anxious and unsure about our choice, but Stacy did a phenomenal job at helping ease my worries, and kept me well informed on Roy’s progress during his training.

Prior to Roy’s training- my boy was a terrible leash puller and lunger. Seeing other dogs on walks always resulted in having my arm nearly dislocated… we tried several methods to no avail and knew we needed professional help.

Stacy worked wonders with Roy. After completing this program, my boy’s walks are complete joy. No more pulling. No more lunging. Now we can even go on off leash walks, which makes both of us so happy! I now have the ability to take him with me just about anyplace without worrying about his behavior being a deterrent.

Knowing that Roy was so well cared for during his training means the world. I feel like Roy was very well loved and I truly think he enjoyed his time with her! Stacy has offered us continued support and is so responsive to answering all my very many questions.

Thank you Stacy and Dog Wizard for helping to strength the bond between Roy and I! - 6/17/2021 

Kim M. AvatarKim M.

Amazing results! Our 2 year old dog with serve anxiety spent 2 weeks there at board and train and it has been life changing for our family! Our dog is a pleasure to have around house guests now and walking her is so fun! Thank you Wilmington Dog Wizard ! - 5/13/2021 

Scott V. AvatarScott V.

Great staff. Affordable. Gave us a good base to help make our dog owning experience better. - 5/13/2021 

Sara M. AvatarSara M.

I would highly recommend The Dog Wizard to anyone looking to get their puppy trained!! Our dog, Moonpie, had the best trainer, Stacy!! She was awesome with him! He can now do the simple commands, sit and down and is walking on a leash with little to no pull! He's still working on come, but is getting there! The main goal was to get him to CALM DOWN!! That was accomplished! He's so much more chill now!! If I could give 10 🌟 I would! Great place and the BEST trainer, Stacy! - 4/29/2021 

John M. AvatarJohn M.

We rescued a two-year-old German Shepard Dog in February. Cooper had been on his own for a time and while he was sweet, he was filled with anxiety and mistrust. We put him in a two-week board and train program at Wilmington Dog Wizard and the progress he made was amazing! Stacey gave him all of the structure he needed to feel safe and calm. Even more importantly, she is training US so that we can help Cooper live his best life! We truly feel like Stacey made it possible to have a safe and happy life with our boy. - 4/27/2021 

Bonnie M. AvatarBonnie M.

I was very hesitant on signing my puppy up for a 2 week board and train, part of her puppy Jumpstart. I didn’t want to miss out on any of her adorable puppy stage, I didn’t want to interrupt our bonding time, and I thought I could do it all myself. But then felt like those were selfish reasons after all I’ve always believed in the saying that it takes a village to raise a child. Plus I do need help. I can’t do it all by myself. I couldn’t recommend the Puppy Jumpstart program more. My trainer, Angela, was absolutely incredible. My puppy is now the best version of herself. The time flew by, and even though I missed her, I knew she was having the time of her life. She is setup for success now, and I feel better as a mom for choosing her needs over my wants. - 4/27/2021 

sandi k. Avatarsandi k.

I dropped my puppy off for a week board and train. I can already tell the difference in my puppy listening to me the first day back home. I also loved the lesson I received from Stacy at pickup. She went through many training skills with me. She was thorough and I did not feel rushed. I’m looking forward to continuing with puppy school. Thank you Stacy and dog Wizard. I’m looking forward to many more lessons with Masonboro. 💗💗💗 - 4/27/2021 

Chrissy R. AvatarChrissy R.

No doubt the best decision you will ever make for your pup is to sign up! To give you some context, a week before we contacted TDW we had already told our kids that unless things changed dramatically, we would need to re-home our 8 month old cavapoo. At the time, we were planting a seed that we thought would be our very near future. Our pup was already super smart (we thought) he was fully potty trained, knew a bunch of commands BUT behaved like a sweet and sour patch bear. He was nice and sweet sometimes but also growled uncontrollably when tired, he had started doing some horrible resource guarding of random objects around the house (which he would take into his crate). During one of those resource guarding episodes he bit my husband twice (small bite but broke skin). He often growled when the kids came into the room (especially if it was the end of the day). We had used a trainer on and off but with no real consistent results. Taking him for walks was becoming embarrassing, as he was the dog who would bark at all dogs. Days before dropping him off he ran out of the house, almost got hit by a car and got snipped at by a dog who got startled by his behavior. We were done. Signing up was us saying, “we have to at least be able to say we tried everything…” .So without hesitation we signed him up for the two week “sleepaway camp” as the kids called it. Stacy was our trainer, literally an angel sent from above. And yes OUR trainer, this was not all about our pup, its also about US! We missed him, we all missed him. Stacy sent us pics and a few videos where we could see what they were working on. It made us feel really comfortable to see how well he was adapting. Two weeks later we picked him up. He was so excited and happy to see us! We immediately went for an off-leash walk and Stacy taught US how to walk and how to be in control (including how to use the e-collar). We also walked with leash and she taught us how to speak his language with motion and in control. After the walk she walked us through everything they had worked on and how to continue the process. We were in disbelief… was this the same dog???So here is where we are now, from the moment we got home. No growling. No resource guarding. We are at 99% staying in place when the doorbell rings. We are able to take him off-leash for a walk and/or perfect on-leash walks. I can make the bed without him being all over the place! I set him in place at his bed and until I “brake” he stays put. Its clear in his behavior that he has structure and understands his purpose and when he is on “work mode”. Life changing for all of us, we now get to enjoy each other. They truly work magic at the Dog Wizard. Stacy, we are forever thankful. - 4/27/2021 

Jean H. AvatarJean H.

What a transformation!!! I am beyond amazed!! Before coming to the Dog Wizard, my otherwise awesome Great Dane would jump, lunge and generally look menacing whenever we would encounter other dogs on our walks - which in our neighborhood is every five feet. Although Abby just wanted to play, it came across as aggressive and scary. I came to dread our walks, which had always been one of my greatest pleasures.In two weeks, Stacy had Abby walking like a princess on and off leash. She no longer pulls on the leash or leaps like a maniac at other dogs. Abby’s been home just a day and I was able to walk her off leash within a few feet of another dog. A true miracle!Stacy’s methods make so much sense and all of herinteractions with Abby were so positive. It was very apparent that she wanted to please Stacy and that’s translated to her behavior at home.Abby is so much calmer around distractions, obeys commands with the slightest cues and really seems to enjoy “working”. I look forward to many hours and miles of walks with my girl. Thanks for all your help Stacy!! - 3/27/2021 

K P. AvatarK P.

I took two dogs to the Dog Wizard. One did a jumpstart program with Lauren and came home the best version of herself - my wild child still has all her joy and the quirky fun that makes her HER, but she came home with a new maturity, a lot more impulse control, and new listening and thinking skills. Instead of just turning her ears off and throwing herself into whatever mischief she could find, we can enjoy life more together now, and I don't worry that she's going to injure herself or someone else - all while keeping her happy spirit. My other dog grew up as a loved pet on a 70-acre rural farm, but she suffered major culture shock after I adopted her and brought her to suburbia, and she never quite finished adjusting on her own. She was fine at home, but any time we tried to take her somewhere, she would turn into an anxious mess, which was hard on both her and us. We enrolled her in private foundation lessons with Kayla, and after five weeks, she has made SO much progress! Kayla always listened carefully to our concerns, helped us understand our dog's body language and needs, and set us up for success with incremental steps and advice about how to support and guide her. I was skeptical when they said she'd only need 5 weeks, but here we are 5 weeks later, and our girl has so much more confidence and can go places with us happily without it being an ordeal for her! She looks to us now for guidance, and we know how to reassure her and help her work through scary situations. Watching her confidently work through her final lesson at a busy store was so rewarding. Everyone at Dog Wizard is so helpful and responsive, and they really care about the dogs and know what's needed to help you reach your goals. We've had nothing but support throughout both programs and afterwards with graduate support classes. Great place and great people! - 3/27/2021 

Colleen S. AvatarColleen S.

We brought our dog to the Wilmington Dog Wizard for their 2 week board and train program to help with her with anxiety and impulse control. I cannot say enough how amazing that program was. Our dog came home and was the best version of herself. We are confident now that she will be calm and relaxed when we have to leave her in the crate; and she will not give into her impulses or distraction when we are on walks (on or off leash). The best part of the whole process was our trainer Stacy. She constantly gave us updates on how our girl was doing and was very knowledgeable when we had question. I would 100% recommend the Wilmington Dog Wizard to anyone who is looking for training for their dog. - 3/27/2021 

Craven D. AvatarCraven D.

Using WDW has truly changed our relationship with our Great Dane! He had gotten to the size where he was getting difficult to control and I wouldn’t dare take him somewhere off leash. After working with Stacy this completely changed and we are now able to take him places both on and off leash and feel in control! Stacy listened to all of my concerns and questions and made sure we were addressing all of these throughout each of our lessons. We went and did real life experiences like going to Lowe’s and coming to my home, so she could see first hand my concerns. When our trainings came to an end she was quick to say, “call if you need anything,” which felt very reassuring if new situations were to arise. I will definitely recommend WDW to my friends and family!! - 3/27/2021 

Amy B. AvatarAmy B.

This is an excellent training program! I highly recommend. My rescue pup Tucker had HORRID leash manners and would drag me around. It was so bad I invested in the (kind of expensive) 1:1 program because I honestly tried everything myself prior to the Dog Wizard including watching endless youtube videos and books. Having someone who can observe you and your dog in person is truly invaluable. There is no way I could have progressed to OFF-LEASH walking without Stacy's help! Do keep in mind that you get out of it what you put in. You definitely have to do the homework - I practiced at home with my pup twice per day for 15-30 mins almost every day during the 8 week program. I'm really looking forward to participating in the graduate get togethers in future. Thank you Stacy & Dog Wizard!!!! - 3/27/2021 

Jennifer a. AvatarJennifer a.

Dog wizards indeed! We rescued a 6-month old pup from a shelter and got way more than we bargained for. We don’t know all of the circumstances of Zephie’s previous life, but without the help of Stacy and all the trainers at Wilmington Dog Wizard we would not have been able to keep her. I fear no one would have been and she would have ended up in a kill shelter or abused by someone who did not want to put the time into teaching her how to become a part of their family. We made the investment in a two-week board and train, attracted by the promise that we would have lifetime access to training to keep Zephie on track. Zephie was a different dog after two weeks! She was much more confident and obeyed commands. However, she was still skittish around other people and dogs. True to the Dog Wizard promise, Stacy and again, ALL the trainers at WDW, continue to work with Zephie. We enjoy the weekly dog walks and have benefited from a little more one-on-one training. Zephie loves Stacy. She is the only person outside our family Zephie will run too in excitement. But most of all, and best of all, Stacy loves Zephie. We love Stacy. You will, too! - 3/27/2021 

Jean H. AvatarJean H.

What a transformation!!! I am beyond amazed!! Before coming to the Dog Wizard, my otherwise awesome Great Dane would jump, lunge and generally look menacing whenever we would encounter other dogs on our walks - which in our neighborhood is every five feet. Although Abby just wanted to play, it came across as aggressive and scary. I came to dread our walks, which had always been one of my greatest pleasures.

In two weeks, Stacy had Abby walking like a princess on and off leash. She no longer pulls on the leash or leaps like a maniac at other dogs. Abby’s been home just a day and I was able to walk her off leash within a few feet of another dog. A true miracle!

Stacy’s methods make so much sense and all of her
interactions with Abby were so positive. It was very apparent that she wanted to please Stacy and that’s translated to her behavior at home.

Abby is so much calmer around distractions, obeys commands with the slightest cues and really seems to enjoy “working”. I look forward to many hours and miles of walks with my girl. Thanks for all your help Stacy!! - 3/20/2021 

Pam D. AvatarPam D.

These ladies are wonderful!!! We were so unsure if our St Bernard puppy would ever get over his fear of people. He is doing so much better. They take the time to help us and well as the puppy. Hudson was a parvo puppy and he missed all the wonderful things puppies learn in the first few months. He was afraid of everything. He has grown so much with this group. The one on one he gets with each of the staff is amazing. I highly recommend them to everyone. So worth it!!!!! Hudson loves going and learning. - 2/27/2021 

Connie W. AvatarConnie W.

I am so overwhelmed with gratitude for The Wilmington Dog Wizard. Shelby is amazing. The continued service and support they provide even after your dog graduates from the program is so above and beyond anything any other company provides. Our dog, Dredge came to us as a rescue with massive aggression issues. Shelby took him for 3 weeks and armed us with a set of commands and communication tools to help Dredge in situations that cause him anxiety. He is a changed dog. The Dog Wizard organizes group outings for graduates of the program to practice their skills and continue their training. Shelby has even been to my house to continue Dredge's training. Obviously everyone should understand that having a well behaved dog required ongoing attention to their training and reinforcement of the skills they learn, but if you want the most bang for your buck and the best results possible for your dog, you NEED to contact The Wilmington Dog Wizard. They came highly recommended to me and I still didn't believe the results. Worth every penny. - 2/27/2021 

Sarah S. AvatarSarah S.

Lauren, Shelby and the entire team at Wilmington Dog Wizards are truly the best. They understand dogs and people and communicate masterfully to both, ensuring great results. They taught me so much about how to talk to my dog and train him to be a well adjusted member of our household. Since the puppy class, we completed the off-leash class which was amazing too. I am so glad I took the plunge with off leash - it has been life changing for us - allowing us to comfortably and safely hike and walk off-leash. It was worth every penny. Thank you Dog Wizards!! - 2/27/2021 

Lori B. AvatarLori B.

Remy came to Wilmington Dog Wizard as a wild Labrador puppy. She had zero manners and wouldn’t listen. She did the 14 day puppy jumpstart and puppy preschool to learn her basic commands then she did the off leash program to sharper her skills. Thanks to WDW she now is off leash reliable, has better impulse control and I can take her places without her getting crazy around other people. I can not recommend Wilmington Dog Wizard enough!! - 1/27/2021 

kelly m. Avatarkelly m.

Our dog had no manners and had selective hearing. But also very silly and goofy. We sent him to Dog Wizard and he came back a completely different dog, in a good way. He listens to us, but i still his silly, goofy self. We would recommend Dog Wizard to anyone and everyone! Great experience! - 1/27/2021