The proof is in the pudding when it comes to dog training. Anyone can claim anything, but achieving it is a different story. We strive to not just teach the dog obedience commands or behavioral modification, but to make sure these obedience commands and behavioral modification work for the owner (when the trainer is not there). And most importantly they work around distractions, aka “when you need them to work the most”. Because of this, we have thousands of testimonials to hang our dog wizard hat on.

Dawnmarie S. AvatarDawnmarie S.

Jen was amazing with our dog. She took a shy rural dog, socialized him, and made him big city ready. Great skills for both the dog and the owners, much appreciated!!! - 11/19/2021 

Allyson J. AvatarAllyson J.

Jen did an amazing (!!) job of working with my dog. The board and train program was beyond my expectations. I can’t thank Jen enough for all the work she did. The program is so structured and yielded true results. My dog came back far more confident and trained. Jen is also amazing at teaching owners the steps needed to take post board and train. I can’t recommend this program enough!!! - 9/15/2021 

Anna R. AvatarAnna R.

We loved working with Dog Wizard and our trainer, Austin. She was extremely helpful, encouraging and answered all of our questions. Very responsive via email and on time. After our 8 week program, our dog listens to us so much better, is less reactive around other dogs, and walks without pulling. Worth every penny. - 8/08/2021 

Thomas D. AvatarThomas D.

DC Dog Wizard did awesome work with our gal Annie! Annie, an adult rescue dog, had serious issues with leash walking, reactivity, anxiety, and socialization with other dogs when we adopted her, and as relatively inexperienced pet owners we wanted to connect with a program that would provide an intensive training experience for her AND support for us. When Jen, our trainer, brought Annie home at the end of her two-week program, we were thrilled to see how much progress she had made! Jen was fantastic with Annie, and she and her team have worked really hard to make sure we are equipped with the knowledge and skills we need to keep Annie on track.Some highlights:-Dog Wizard gets to know your dog and provides guidance specifically tailored to your dogs needs.-The various approaches employed by Dog Wizard--transitional leashes, e-collars, etc.--are all intuitive, sustainable, and humane.-Our dog was returned to us with many of her worst bad habits--barking at trucks, leash pulling, aggressive behavior toward other dogs--almost completely resolved.-Dog Wizard emphasizes the importance of continued training with your dog AND goes above and beyond to help you make that happen, with free weekly support classes that are great.-Jen! She's awesome, and we feel really lucky that we were connected with her.Overall great experience, both in terms of Annie's progress after her two-week program and the additional progress that she is making as we continue her training with support from Dog Wizard! - 7/15/2021 

Thomas D. AvatarThomas D.

DC Dog Wizard did awesome work with our gal Annie! Annie, an adult rescue dog, had serious issues with leash walking, reactivity, anxiety, and socialization with other dogs when we adopted her, and as relatively inexperienced pet owners we wanted to connect with a program that would provide an intensive training experience for her AND support for us. When Jen, our trainer, brought Annie home at the end of her two-week program, we were thrilled to see how much progress she had made! Jen was fantastic with Annie, and she and her team have worked really hard to make sure we are equipped with the knowledge and skills we need to keep Annie on track.

Some highlights:

-Dog Wizard gets to know your dog and provides guidance specifically tailored to your dogs needs.

-The various approaches employed by Dog Wizard--transitional leashes, e-collars, etc.--are all intuitive, sustainable, and humane.

-Our dog was returned to us with many of her worst bad habits--barking at trucks, leash pulling, aggressive behavior toward other dogs--almost completely resolved.

-Dog Wizard emphasizes the importance of continued training with your dog AND goes above and beyond to help you make that happen, with free weekly support classes that are great.

-Jen! She's awesome, and we feel really lucky that we were connected with her.

Overall great experience, both in terms of Annie's progress after her two-week program and the additional progress that she is making as we continue her training with support from Dog Wizard! - 7/12/2021 

Katie K. AvatarKatie K.

DC dog wizard changed our life. Our dog Hank was reactive on leash, would refuse to walk, and never listened to commands. We tried several other dog trainers and nothing was working. Jen helped us and Hank SO much!! He used to hate going on walks because it gave him anxiety and now he’s always excited to go. He listens to commands and is friendly when we pass other dogs on walks. We spent so many days feeling hopeless and Jen completely changed that for us. He gets so excited when we see her at support classes. Could not recommend it more!! - 7/09/2021 

Katie P. AvatarKatie P.

We call Scott the “Dog Whisperer”-he did an amazing job training our labradoodle (and us)! We would highly recommend! - 4/01/2021 

Megan N. AvatarMegan N.

2018: So it’s been about 2 months since Mosley was in training & I wanted to wait to see how she did before writing this review (I never write reviews). But in true honestly, this is the best training program! It is hands-down the best improvement I have ever seen in my dog. Shes about 5 years old & was attacked by a dog while at the dog park & slowly her social skills with other dogs became terrible. She would attack dogs over nothing at the dog park and then would lung, bark & growl when we were walking by other dogs. She became extremely reactive in about a year & half after the incident. Having her as a dog was challenging & upsetting. Even at one point she got off her leash & attacked another dog walking by (its almost all display not actual hurting another dog) but I was starting to get concerned over lawsuits. I tried numerous trainers (a total of 5) all over the DC/MD/VA area & saw little progress. Most trainers just told me that "some dogs are just not dog park dogs" even though she had loved the dog park before she was attacked. I was very skeptical this program would work & expected it not to because of my previous experience. But she's been truly amazing since this program! She's having so much fun with other dogs playing at dog parks (back to her old self), never barks at other dogs while we are walking by & is truly much happier and calmer. I will also say that it did take time to transition from camp to home (some of her behaviors were still briefly there) but I stuck with Scott's advice & was consistent and eventually all those fleeting behaviors went away. The price tag is a lot, but I would have saved money if I didn't try all the other trainers first. I highly recommend this program & it's important to stick to Scott's advice! The other good news is that they offer unlimited life time training, so if there is ever an issue you can always sign up for additional training sessions (which I have done twice now)!Updated Review:I wanted to give an updated review since 3 years ago after Mosley received her board and train. Where do I begin! First of all, the program is expensive BUT ITS WORTH EVERY PENNY. I am/was not paid for this review. Her whole life has changed. Keep in mind that it is up to you as an owner to keep up with training and keep practicing but she’s a totally different dog than when we went into training. Basically, she was extremely dog reactive and now she ignores dogs which is 100% my goal. I just want her to be able to walk and not engage other dogs. When we are walking, I want her to focus on me and not worry if a dog is barking or trying to get her attention. So many people (I honestly cannot count the number of people) comment on how well behaved she is and how well she walks (she is always in a heel). Every person I see I want to say “it’s training - it’s not her personality!!!” However, she’s not perfect. Scott was able to take her to dog parks and I was for a short time, but to be honest, I’ve never been that comfortable taking her to a dog park (I get too nervous). She can engage with dogs one-on -one and be in houses with dogs she knows, but I (it’s my nerves more than hers) can’t risk going to a dog park. But other than that, she’s an angel. My hope for writing this review is if you’re on the fence but really stressed about your dogs behavior - it’s worth it. Take the financial burden and do it. I am so thankful having her at this point where I feel like she’s very successful. So thank you to Scott, and DC dog wizard because my pup was a rough candidate (being a feral stray, chow chow/malamute mix) but I’m so happy with the result!Also, every dog is different BUT I haven’t needed the collar training for almost 2 years. Any socialization that Scott did, was really outside any of the collar training. That was a tool to help but in my case, didn’t end up being necessarily long term. I kept with the training for about 6 months and slowly decrease the use of the collar. She walks 100% now without the collar, responds amazing, doesn’t react, but also not all dogs are the same. - 4/01/2021 

Megan N. AvatarMegan N.

2018: So it’s been about 2 months since Mosley was in training & I wanted to wait to see how she did before writing this review (I never write reviews). But in true honestly, this is the best training program! It is hands-down the best improvement I have ever seen in my dog. Shes about 5 years old & was attacked by a dog while at the dog park & slowly her social skills with other dogs became terrible. She would attack dogs over nothing at the dog park and then would lung, bark & growl when we were walking by other dogs. She became extremely reactive in about a year & half after the incident. Having her as a dog was challenging & upsetting. Even at one point she got off her leash & attacked another dog walking by (its almost all display not actual hurting another dog) but I was starting to get concerned over lawsuits. I tried numerous trainers (a total of 5) all over the DC/MD/VA area & saw little progress. Most trainers just told me that "some dogs are just not dog park dogs" even though she had loved the dog park before she was attacked. I was very skeptical this program would work & expected it not to because of my previous experience. But she's been truly amazing since this program! She's having so much fun with other dogs playing at dog parks (back to her old self), never barks at other dogs while we are walking by & is truly much happier and calmer. I will also say that it did take time to transition from camp to home (some of her behaviors were still briefly there) but I stuck with Scott's advice & was consistent and eventually all those fleeting behaviors went away. The price tag is a lot, but I would have saved money if I didn't try all the other trainers first. I highly recommend this program & it's important to stick to Scott's advice! The other good news is that they offer unlimited life time training, so if there is ever an issue you can always sign up for additional training sessions (which I have done twice now)!

Updated Review:
I wanted to give an updated review since 3 years ago after Mosley received her board and train. Where do I begin! First of all, the program is expensive BUT ITS WORTH EVERY PENNY. I am/was not paid for this review. Her whole life has changed. Keep in mind that it is up to you as an owner to keep up with training and keep practicing but she’s a totally different dog than when we went into training. Basically, she was extremely dog reactive and now she ignores dogs which is 100% my goal. I just want her to be able to walk and not engage other dogs. When we are walking, I want her to focus on me and not worry if a dog is barking or trying to get her attention. So many people (I honestly cannot count the number of people) comment on how well behaved she is and how well she walks (she is always in a heel). Every person I see I want to say “it’s training - it’s not her personality!!!” However, she’s not perfect. Scott was able to take her to dog parks and I was for a short time, but to be honest, I’ve never been that comfortable taking her to a dog park (I get too nervous). She can engage with dogs one-on -one and be in houses with dogs she knows, but I (it’s my nerves more than hers) can’t risk going to a dog park. But other than that, she’s an angel. My hope for writing this review is if you’re on the fence but really stressed about your dogs behavior - it’s worth it. Take the financial burden and do it. I am so thankful having her at this point where I feel like she’s very successful. So thank you to Scott, and DC dog wizard because my pup was a rough candidate (being a feral stray, chow chow/malamute mix) but I’m so happy with the result!

Also, every dog is different BUT I haven’t needed the collar training for almost 2 years. Any socialization that Scott did, was really outside any of the collar training. That was a tool to help but in my case, didn’t end up being necessarily long term. I kept with the training for about 6 months and slowly decrease the use of the collar. She walks 100% now without the collar, responds amazing, doesn’t react, but also not all dogs are the same. - 3/05/2021 

Gm G. AvatarGm G.

You CAN teach an old dog new tricks!My husband and I have had a 7-year love-hate relationship with our dog. He’s mini Australian Shepherd. We had him since he was 6 weeks old and he was thoroughly socialized until he was neutered when the behavioral problems began to manifest (aggression, separation anxiety). Walking him was nearly impossible. He barked and lunged at other dogs and unsuspecting passersby. Strolling in parks was always a drama-filled affair with him protesting anyone or anything within a 3-foot radius of us. He also barked at any sound beyond our door to the annoyance and dismay of our neighbors. Leaving home for any reason invited snarling, barking and the occasional bite, which has only worsened during COVID-19 because we do not leave home nearly as often as before. We needed help. It was either the dog or our sanity.I found The Dog Wizard online and enrolled our pup in the 3 week intensive training/ boarding program. Scott and his team were great. We received regular updates of our pup and his progress (though to be honest, I was so relieved and relaxed over the 21 days our dog was away that I would have happily paid The Dog Wizard staff to keep him!)To say that things have changed would be an understatement. I’ve always loved my dog, but I actually LIKE him now as well. Taking our pup for a walk is actually enjoyable and stress free. So much so, that I find myself spending much more time with him walking each day. No pulling, barking or drama—barely feels like he is there at all. When we took him to the closest park, he walked obediently by my side without distraction and then(!) sat quietly on a bench while six other dogs yapped and played nearby. That would have been unthinkable a month earlier. His separation anxiety has also dialed back considerably.Before The Dog Wizard, our dog was 70% unmanageable and 30% lovable. Now, he’s 90% lovable and his crazy side rarely manifests, and when it does, it is no where near the intensity as before. Scott and his team are miracle workers. They have given us training tips as well as the tools to keep our pup on the right path.The Dog Wizard is worth every penny. My only regret is that we did not find and enroll Barnaby in The Dog Wizard years earlier. - 3/01/2021 

Gm G. AvatarGm G.

You CAN teach an old dog new tricks!

My husband and I have had a 7-year love-hate relationship with our dog. He’s mini Australian Shepherd. We had him since he was 6 weeks old and he was thoroughly socialized until he was neutered when the behavioral problems began to manifest (aggression, separation anxiety). Walking him was nearly impossible. He barked and lunged at other dogs and unsuspecting passersby. Strolling in parks was always a drama-filled affair with him protesting anyone or anything within a 3-foot radius of us. He also barked at any sound beyond our door to the annoyance and dismay of our neighbors. Leaving home for any reason invited snarling, barking and the occasional bite, which has only worsened during COVID-19 because we do not leave home nearly as often as before. We needed help. It was either the dog or our sanity.

I found The Dog Wizard online and enrolled our pup in the 3 week intensive training/ boarding program. Scott and his team were great. We received regular updates of our pup and his progress (though to be honest, I was so relieved and relaxed over the 21 days our dog was away that I would have happily paid The Dog Wizard staff to keep him!)

To say that things have changed would be an understatement. I’ve always loved my dog, but I actually LIKE him now as well. Taking our pup for a walk is actually enjoyable and stress free. So much so, that I find myself spending much more time with him walking each day. No pulling, barking or drama—barely feels like he is there at all. When we took him to the closest park, he walked obediently by my side without distraction and then(!) sat quietly on a bench while six other dogs yapped and played nearby. That would have been unthinkable a month earlier. His separation anxiety has also dialed back considerably.

Before The Dog Wizard, our dog was 70% unmanageable and 30% lovable. Now, he’s 90% lovable and his crazy side rarely manifests, and when it does, it is no where near the intensity as before. Scott and his team are miracle workers. They have given us training tips as well as the tools to keep our pup on the right path.

The Dog Wizard is worth every penny. My only regret is that we did not find and enroll Barnaby in The Dog Wizard years earlier. - 2/13/2021 

Nora L. AvatarNora L.

Original Post 2020:We sent our new rescue pup to Scott/DC Dog Wizard's two-week program and we are so glad that we did! Despite both working remotely, we both felt like it was too hard to properly train a dog during a pandemic. Millie struggled with leash fear-based aggression and needed to socialize with dogs. But with dog parks closed and social distancing in effect, we couldn't quickly overcome this issue ourselves.With the two-week program, Millie was not only taught basic commands and leash etiquette but also was immersed with other dogs. Scott was great and shared photos of Millie every day so it made the two weeks she was away more bearable :)Now that Millie is back, we see a HUGE improvement in how she reacts to dogs on leash. And his leash technique for heeling has also been a game-changer. It made our walks so much more enjoyable both for her and us.Yes, we will be responsible for continuing to train Millie and making sure she doesn't regress (Scott does a follow-up training to help), but what had me sold about his program is that we can call or text him for the rest of Millie's life if we have any questions or issues. I feel thrilled knowing I have this support from now on!Update 2021:Six months later, Millie is a transformed dog. We regularly pass other dogs on leash and Millie is unfazed -- she's completely fine saying hi or not saying hi. I cannot believe I used to cross the street when I saw another dog approaching!Scott recommends an e-collar which seems scary at first but it's worth it. Positive re-enforcement/treat training was NOT solving her leash/fear-based aggression. I made sure the vibration was super low by testing it on my palm. Yes, I assume Millie wasn't a fan, but we only used it for a few months and she is now so much more confident and happier. She no longer lives in fear of other dogs.No doubt in my mind, The Dog Wizard was one of the best decisions (other than foster-failing Millie) I made all year. I highly recommend. - 2/01/2021 

Lisa B. AvatarLisa B.

I rescued Jax, a tiny little 10lb dude from a shelter 2 years ago. His early life was filled with abuse, neglect and awful socialization. Shortly after coming home, he started to exhibit fear aggression towards both other dogs and people. I tried everything- cbd treats, positive behavior reinforcement training, thunder jackets, prozac, trazadone, Xanax. If you could find it at a department store, or vet office I had tried it. Shortly after relocating to the DC area I heard about DC dog wizard. I was pretty skeptical and honestly thought "my dog is going to be the one who breaks this Scott guy." In fact, I told Scott that when I dropped him off for the 2 week board/train program. I was nervous. All the big dogs there, a new environment, strangers...all triggers for Jax. It took 4 days to even got the collar on him for training. Even Scott referred to Jax as a "Special case." But Scott didn't give up. He gave Jax the same effort and faith that I've been giving him all these years. The home lesson left me in awe. Scott was able to pick Jax up, put a collar on, take the leash and walk him. These might all be normal things for most dogs, but not Jax. Jax has bitten multiple people in those exact circumstances. We walked the neighborhood and I saw a confidence and focus in Jax I had never seen before. He was beaming with pride to show me all the things he had learned. I was super proud, and so was Scott! This is by no means a miracle fix. Jax is still fearful and if I didn't continue to practice what Scott spent so much time teaching I know he would easily revert back to old behavior. It will continue to take work for Jax to blossom into the confident dog I now see glimpses of often. But, I'm amazed at the progress he has made so far and after years of trying everything else I'm happy that I've found something that I know will work.Update: January 2021.Jax is doing great! He has been weaned off prozac and all other anxiety medications. We have doubled our pack and now have 4 dogs total. A German Shepherd Chow and a Pittie (both large dogs). Jax does great with both of them. He actually engages in appropriate play and loves to be chased by his dog siblings. He can go to dog parks without extreme anxiety although he is still particular about his personal space but hey, isn't everybody these days ;)All our dogs are now trained with the same ecollars and training from Scott. We get compliments every time we are out with our dogs on how well trained they are. I can't say enough good things about Scott and his passion to help pups. - 2/01/2021 

Camden G. AvatarCamden G.

Cannot say enough about what a great job Scott did training our dog! Our dog had been having a lot of issues pulling on leash and getting too excited when seeing distractions while on walks. Scott not only returned our dog to us much better trained after the 2 week camp, but the follow up classes and instructions Scott provided to us have been really helpful in getting the training to stick. Highly recommended hiring Scott if you need help training your dog! - 1/01/2021 

Greg S. AvatarGreg S.

Scott is a amazing trainer. We had an excellent experience with him. My puppy already misses Scott! - 1/01/2021 

Rosalyn G. AvatarRosalyn G.

We have had a great experience with Scott at DC Dog Wizard! Our new rescue was having anxiety issues, fear based aggression and was not doing well calmly meeting other dogs. We ended up doing the training with both of our dogs so our older dog could brush up on skills as well. They both took to the training quickly and each week Scott was able to build on the skills we learnt the week before. The great thing about Scott's training is if you need a little brush up on training or just a little more structure after your training is done thats provided for you. We felt and still feel supported. With our second dog who already did well with commands we were still able to teach him new things and Scott gave us some additional fun tricks so he got a lot out of the training too. With Scott's help we were even able to teach Bentley to jump and balance on fire hydrants! What fun! - 12/01/2020 

Francisco R. AvatarFrancisco R.

Scott did an amazing job with my rescued puppy, Mandy. She was extremely fearful of her surroundings and very protective. I thought it was going to go away once she grew but then the coronavirus pandemic made it difficult for her to socialize with other dogs and people. Scott worked on her confidence and kept me up to date with pictures and videos all the time. Mandy's behavior improved drastically. Now we can go on walks around the neighborhood and she no longer barks at the door when people pass by the hallway. I totally recommend DC Dog Wizard! - 11/01/2020 

Victoria K. AvatarVictoria K.

We contacted Scott after I looked over all the trainers in the DMV area and I could not be happier with the result. Our one year old Dalmatian was super shy and leash reactive towards most dogs and he started getting super scared of people wearing masks after COVID started which made it very hard going on calm walks with him.After working on a 6 weeks private classes with Thomas and Scott I feel like I have a completely different dog. We can go on walks and Cooper will heel and listen to us a lot more, he even meets dogs on the leash with no problem. We never had problems at dog parks but the "come" command is life-changing since now I don't have to worry about calling him more than once to leave the park.Thomas and Scott did not only train Cooper but also us to know how to handle every situation we might encounter and know how to deal with it.Worth every cent. I would definitely recommend it. - 7/01/2020 

Meghan H. AvatarMeghan H.

Scott and his team are excellent. We are so glad that we sent our 3 rescue dogs - 2 seniors and 1 adult - for the 2 week training camp. Our dogs were always sweet but not well trained, and they really had no training before they left. They came back happy and we are able to do so much more with them. It's made a huge difference in our lives to have responsive, well-mannered dogs and we couldn't have done it without Scott and his team. They truly care for the dogs and it's evident in our dogs' trust and happiness to see them. Highly recommended! - 6/01/2020 

Fern B. AvatarFern B.

We sent our dog Bella to Scott’s board and train program about 6 months ago. Bella is a large, high-energy lab mix who is very friendly but also has some anxiety. Before sending her to Scott, she struggled with listening to commands when there were any distractions around, and it was impossible to walk her on a leash without intense pulling or lunging at dogs. We were reluctant to have guests over because we couldn’t keep Bella from jumping on them.After the two week board and train program, Bella’s behavior is SO much better. She listens to our commands the first time, and we are able to have her greet people and be around others comfortably. She walks well on the leash, and we have been able to transition out of using a head halter to only using her e-collar. After training, we can finally trust that she is going to listen to our commands consistently.We really appreciate how well Scott got to know our dog, and how he’s still available to answer questions and do follow up lessons. We would 100% recommend the dog wizard to anyone that’s looking for help with their dog! - 6/01/2020